The Lord Will Give You Rest

Nathan – Thursday 5th Nov 2015

I have not posted anything for the last couple of weeks out of respect for a dear friend who passed away last Tuesday but felt that now I needed to share something that the Lord has placed on my heart for the last few days. It has been a difficult week and a half and even during my own lack of understanding and desperation to seek God for answers, The Lord is continually reminding me that no matter what we go through, through Christ our Savior, we have the ability to overcome all obstacles and situations, because He has already overcome them for us.

“Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.”

‭‭Matthew‬ ‭11:28‬ ‭NKJV‬‬

The Lord wants us to come to Him with all our burdens, all our pain and suffering and hand it over to Him so that He can give us rest and piece in the situation we are going through. It doesn’t mean we forget all that has happened or that we don’t feel any emotion anymore, it means that if we trust God and place it in His hands, He will help us and give us the strength to get through our current circumstances and we will feel a piece in knowing that Jesus is doing the journey with us and we can rest in The Holy Spirit to guide us in overcoming all that we are going through.

Lately I have been listening to a particular Hillsong United song called “Take Heart” and every time I listen to it, I am reduced to tears, not with tears of sorrow but with tears of joy knowing that whatever this world may throw at me, Christ has already overcome and given me the power to overcome through Him.  I have changed the words slightly to make it more of a personal declaration during the start of my prayer time in the mornings and this is how it reads.

“Lord, you are my light, You burn brighter than the sun, You steal the night. You cast no shadow and in you Lord, there is hope. Should oceans rise and mountains fall, Lord, you never fail.

So I take heart Lord, Because your love leads me through the night. I Hold on to hope, and in you Lord, I take courage again.

In death by your love Lord, The fallen world was overcome. You wear the scars of my freedom and in your Name Lord Jesus, all my fears are swept away, you never fail.

All my troubles and all my tears, God you are my hope and you have overcome. All my failure and all my fears, God you are love and you have overcome. All my heartache and all my pain, God you are my healer and you have overcome. All my burdens and all my shame, God you are my freedom and you have overcome.

God you are my justice, God you are my grace, God you are my freedom and you have overcome. God you are my refuge, God you are my strength, God you are with me and you have overcome.”

Amen

Leave a comment