Praying from your Heavenly seat

Nathan – Thursday 1st Oct 2015

The Kingdom within us is more powerful than the kingdom around us. We have dual citizenship, we are citizens of Heaven and citizens of Earth. The question is, do we live from Earth toward Heaven or do we live from Heaven toward Earth.

The Lord has been speaking to me over the last couple of days about the way I pray and how my perspective of where I see myself seated when I pray, can not only change my current circumstances, but can alter my present to be aligned with how I see my future without causing delay.

The word of God says that the exceeding greatness of God’s power is towards us who believe, according to the working of His mighty power, which He worked in Christ, when He raised Him from the dead and seated Him at the right hand of God in the Heavenly places, far above all principality and power and might and dominion and every name that is named, not only in this age but also in that which is to come. And He put all things under His feet, and gave Him to be head over all things to the church, which is His body, the fullness of Him who fills all in all. Eph 1:19-23

In Romans 8:17 it says that we are heirs of God and joint heirs with Christ. In Romans 12:5 it says that we are one body in Christ.

If we are in Christ and Christ is seated at the right hand of God in Heavenly places, then we are also seated in Heavenly places. If God has placed Christ far above all principalities and powers of this earthly realm, then we also through our salvation in Christ, have been placed above all principalities and powers of this earthly realm. If we are the body of Christ and God has put all things under His feet, then God has also put all things under our feet. Our true identity is in Christ and Christ in us, gives us the Authority of Christ to rule over all things of this earthly realm and over all our circumstances. By this authority, all our circumstances must come into align with the Word of God and with our Heavenly citizenship which grants us access to all the blessing of Heaven in which we are joint heirs with Christ.

With this understanding, our prayer life should not be motivated by the negative circumstances around us. A book that I am reading at the moment called “Spirit Wars” by Kris Vallotton, describes this as a symptom of our seating arrangement. Earthly seating creates reactionary prayers. Yes we need to pray for these things and decree that our circumstances come into align with what the word of God says but if this is all we are focused on in our prayers, then we are placing too much much focus on what the enemy is doing rather than what God has already done through the finished works of Jesus. An Earthly seated position is not where we want to be praying from, we want to be praying from a Heavenly seated position which is our rightful place, seated with Christ on his Heavenly throne. From this seating arrangement, we live a prayer life that is powerful and on the offensive rather than defensive. Our prayers become prophetic declarations that direct our paths and history. With this seated position, our circumstances in this earthly realm will have no choice but to align themselves with what the Word of God says and with the promises that God has spoken and declared over us. It allows us to see our future as God sees it and gives us the ability to speak forth and prophesy our future into our present. We can change our present situation by prophesying a different future into being, one that is aligned with the promises of God and with what the Word of God says. We then start to pray with words like “God I thank you that you have done” rather than “God I thank you that you will do” or “Lord, I thank you have given me access to all promises you have spoken over me” not “Lord I thank you that you will give me access” or “God, I thank you that I am completely healthy and healed in all areas of my life” not “God please will you heal me”. With this perspective in our prayer life, the Kingdom within us will begin to dictate and direct the world around us so that we are no longer living as victims but as Victors in Christ Jesus.

seated-in-heavenly-places

Leave a comment